Facts? Yeah, Sure. Why Not?

While this whole blog is auto-biographical, I tend to wax poetic with anecdotes and stories rather than giving specific details about my life. I generally like it that way, but it’s nice to give context sometimes. So, here are a few facts about myself, my transition, and my life at the moment.

– I am 27 years old. I am trans. I am trying to figure it out.
– I am a Midwest native. I grew up outside of the Twin Cities in Minnesota, but moved to rural Illinois during Jr. High. I went to college in Chicago and stuck around there until my spouse got into a graduate program in Berkeley, CA. I’ve been living in Oakland, CA for the last 2 1/2 years.
– I’ve been married for 4 1/2 years, and we’ve been together since High School. For those of you doing the math, that means my spouse & I have been together for over 11 years. We’re slowly but surely approaching the time when I will have been WITH my spouse longer than not. That’s so crazy to me.
– My background is in sculpture and fine-arts. I’ve worked in just about every medium you can imagine and love building things more than breathing. Lately, my creative energy has mostly been used up sewing, embroidering, and making delicious food in my kitchen.
– I started hormones for transitioning last September on a very low dose using patches. Turns out I was allergic to something in the patches and had to switch to weekly injections, which was like finding out that you could only have your birthday cake if you punched yourself in the face first. I wanted hormones, but hated needles. HATED them. To overcome this, I’ve started listening to music that builds me up and makes me feel powerful while injecting, so the playlist is mostly Beyonce. I’m on a slightly higher dose now and am finally starting to see some changes.
– I’ve worked in varying shades of retail since I was seventeen & have the scars to prove it.
– I am a gigantic nerd. I read voraciously. I play D&D almost every week. I love solving puzzles of all sorts. I watch a lot of cartoons. I’m trying to expand my pull list at the local comic book store. I own a lot of Legos & play with them regularly. I have sat through the entire extended edition Lord of the Rings trilogy in a single day. And I’m damn proud of it.

This gives you a pretty good run-down of my background and the kind of things I care about.

Leave a Reply

