2015 Reading List

bookcovers2

In no particular order, here are 20 books I’m looking forward to reading in 2015.

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss
Men Explain Things to Me by Rebecca Solnit
Hot Pink by Adam Levin
Trigger Warning by Neil Gaiman
The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt
Lock-In by John Scalzi
The Magician’s Land by Lev Grossman
Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie
Throne of the Crescent Moon by Saladin Ahmed
The Blazing World by Siri Hustvedt
Motherland Fatherland Homelandsexuals by Patricia Lockwood
Behind the Beautiful Forevers by Katherine Boo
The Fifty Year Sword by Mark Z. Danielewski
Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay
Round Ireland with a Fridge by Tony Hawks
The Golem and the Djinni by Helene Wecker
Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep by Philip K Dick
Book of the New Sun by Gene Wolfe
A Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula Le Guin
Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood

This list is a pretty good smattering of books I’ve been meaning to read, but haven’t yet, recommendations from friends, and suggestions from varying internet sources. If any of them turn out to be particularly interesting I’ll let you know. Also, HALF of them were written by women, so if I can stick to this list I’m well on my way to achieving my new year’s resolution. Hooray!

There are many many more books I want to read, but there are also TV shows and movies to watch, and plays to see, and art to explore, and food to cook and eat, and a life to live! Hopefully I can make it through the entire list this year, but there are so many variables to tackling lists like this. Some of these titles are part of a series, so if I like the first one I will inevitably devour the rest of them. This also doesn’t include books that haven’t been published yet because I am not hep enough to know about books before they appear on the shelves of my local bookstore. This is the problem with living in a fascinating world full of amazing people- there’s just too much in the world to explore to ever be able to absorb it all, but I will do my damnedest to try.

One thought on “2015 Reading List

  1. Living life does create a lot of things to do so that there’s not enough time to read. Good luck on your reading goals and balancing your life!

Leave a Reply

