Anti-Semitism in Chicago

Yesterday a whole lot of stupid and hate happened right outside my old neighborhood in Chicago. I lived in East Rogers Park for five of the six years I lived in Chicago, so I have a strong affinity for the diverse and developing neighborhood. And yesterday, some bigots decided to plaster their bullshit all over the homes of the local Jewish community.

I find that while I have a lot to say on the matter, I have great issues articulating most of it. I will never understand blind hatred. No one gets to choose who their parents are, and so it seems equally nonsensical to me to hate someone for the color of their skin as it does for being Jewish. Hating someone for any arbitrary reason is the most infuriating and ludicrous thing I have encountered in my life. I don’t understand it, and never will.

While no one gets to choose their family, I  happen to be in an unusual situation, having actively chosen to be a part of the Jewish community. My husband officially converted about six months ago, but has been very involved in our local synagogue for years. Only in the last year or so have I started to consider where I stand and whether I want to be Jewish. While I haven’t officially converted and still have a lot to learn about how to be Jewish, I have found a loving, thriving and supportive community that I couldn’t be more proud to be a part of. At the moment, this seems to be all I’m capable of saying about the subject.

Leave a Reply

