2014 in Books

I am, and almost always have been, a voracious reader. So much so that I use words like voracious. But, in the past, when it came to schoolwork or anything that I deemed ‘boring’ that was my own personal hell. Why ruin something as lovely as reading a book with the mundane?

While I don’t devote as much time to reading as I wish I could I still managed to read a decent amount of books in 2014. Mostly due to an end-of-year discovery of Scott Lynch’s Gentleman Bastards series. (I have blown through all three books since November 11. I only know this date because I keep a record of life-destroying moments). Some of the books were fantastic, some I would really like to use as kindling, and at least one has been used as a bludgeon.

This year I also got back into comics. I’ve had a handful of series that I’ve read over the years, but there have been so many fantastic titles being published recently that I had to start reading at least a couple more.

Books I Read in 2014:

Anansi Boys by Neil Gaiman
Real Man Adventures by T. Cooper
After Dark by Haruki Murakami
Boxers by Gene Luen Yang
Saints by Gene Luen Yang
You by Austin Grossman
Looking for Alaska by John Green
Human Division by John Scalzi
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
A Queer and Pleasant Danger by Kate Borenstein
Robogenesis by Daniel Wilson
Consider the Fork by Bee Wilson
John Dies at the End by David Wong
Viking Unchained by Sandra Hill
The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch
Red Seas Under Red Skies by Scott Lynch
The Bullet-Catcher’s Daughter by Rod Duncan

The Republic of Thieves by Scott Lynch

Comic Titles:
Fables by Bill Willingham & Mark Buckingham
Fairest by Bill Willingham & Mark Buckingham
Hawkeye by Matt Fraction
Saga by Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples
Rat Queens by Kurtis J. Wieb
Sex Criminals by Matt Fraction
The Unwritten by Mike Carey & Peter Gross

I’m sure there will be at least one more book to add to that list before the year is out. I think Ursula Le Guin’s Left Hand of Darkness is next on my list, but I also have a seemingly never-ending pile of books to read. Mostly thanks to friends that insist on continuously recommending books (some so they can read vicariously through me).

Next year, I am going to make a concerted effort to read more books by women. It’s disappointing that there are only three on the list this year (and one is potentially the worst book I’ve ever read so it doesn’t count). On the bright side, many of the male authors I read this year are outspoken feminists. But this is my resolution for the new year. That, and give The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss another try. The more I read about him or hear interviews with him, the more I like him, but when I tried to read it the first time I got so bored. It was recommended to me by an amazing bartender that hung out with me for an entire brunch chatting about books. I get book recommendations in the strangest places sometimes. Anyway, The Name of the Wind gets one more shot before it ends up in the ‘books I never bothered to finish’ pile.

Leave a Reply

